top of page

"When It All Syncs Up" by Maya Ameyaw


When It All Syncs Up cover

A Black teen dancer with dreams of landing a spot in a prestigious ballet company must learn to dance on her own terms in this explosive debut about the healing power of art and friendship, perfect for fans of Heartstopper and Tiny Pretty Things.


Ballet is Aisha’s life. So when she’s denied yet another lead at her elite academy because she doesn’t “look” the part, she knows something has to change–the constant discrimination is harming her mental health. Switching to her best friend Neil’s art school seems like the perfect plan at first.


But she soon discovers racism and bullying are entrenched in the ballet program here, too, and there’s a new, troubling distance between her and Neil. And as past traumas surface, pressure from friends and family, a new romance, and questions about her dance career threaten to overwhelm her. There’s no choreography to follow–for high school or for healing. Aisha will have to find the strength within herself–and place her trust in others–to make her next move.


Add this book on Goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/59689787



Genre: #YA #Contemporary #Romance


Disability rep: #MentalHealth #Anxiety #Depression #EatingDisorder #BodyDysmorphia


Other representation: #LGBTQIA #Queer #Black


Publication date: #June2023 #2023year

11 views

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page