top of page

"The Tea Dragon Society" series by Kay O'Neill

The Tea Dragon Society cover

From the award-winning Owlcrate author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The Tea Dragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in the enchanting world of tea dragons. After discovering a lost tea dragon in the marketplace, Greta learns about the dying art form of tea dragon care-taking from the kind tea shop owners, Hesekiel and Erik. As she befriends them and their shy ward, Minette, Greta sees how the craft enriches their lives—and eventually her own.

Disability rep: #PhysicalDisability (character uses a wheelchair) #CognitiveDisability (unspecified) #Deaf (appears later in the series)

Other representation: #LGBTQIA #Queer #Nonbinary #Genderfluid

Publication date: #October2017 #2017year

Awards won: Harvey Awards, Best Children or Young Adult Book AND nominated for Digital Book of the Year (2018), Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, Best Publication for Kids (ages 9–12) & Best Webcomic (2018)

*Note: While prior editions of this book were published under the name Katie O'Neill, the author has since changed their name to Kay O'Neill and now goes by they/them pronouns!


Related Posts

See All


bottom of page