top of page

"The Sound of Stars" by Alechia Dow


The Sound of Stars cover

Can a girl who risks her life for books and an Ilori who loves pop music work together to save humanity?


When a rebel librarian meets an Ilori commander…


Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the death of one-third of the world’s population. Today, seventeen-year-old Ellie Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library.


When young Ilori commander Morris finds Ellie’s illegal library, he’s duty-bound to deliver her for execution. But Morris isn’t a typical Ilori…and Ellie and her books might be the key to a desperate rebellion of his own.







Publication date: #February2020 #2020year


BONUS! Check out Julie's #OwnVoices* review of The Sound of Stars here: (and yes, this Julie in question is me, founder of YADDB!!)

The Sound of Stars is a book that is very, VERY close to my heart for many, many reasons. First, before reading this (and Read With Pride by Lucy Powrie) I had yet to be familiarized with the concept of demisexuality, or even just the aro-ace spectrum as a whole. Growing up, I had always felt so lost (especially watching all my friends and classmates get really intense crushes on people they barely even knew), but seeing Ellie not just be proud of, but completely owning her demisexuality, gave me the confidence boost I needed to be able to proudly and openly identify as a demiromantic asexual (or just demi-ace for short!)
Additionally, the anxiety & mental health representation was! just!! so!!! INCREDIBLE!!!! As someone who has been diagnosed with social & generalized anxiety disorder since I was in elementary school, you have NO IDEA just how purely amazing it was to not only see it FINALLY being written about in YA, but written about so well. While not everyone experiences anxiety the same way, from the perspective of someone diagnosed for years, I can say without a doubt that this is arguably the very BEST anxiety representation I’ve ever seen in the pages of a book.
Honestly, I just can't sing this book praises enough. I think it goes without saying that this is definitely going to end up as my favorite book of 2020, but I am now also considering this book to be my #1 favorite YA book of all time. MAJOR, MAJOR, MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS to Alechia Dow on a *fantastic* debut book, and I'm looking forward to seeing more of her work in the future!❞ - Julie

*Note: I am ONLY #OwnVoices for the anxiety, mental health, and a-spec representation in this book! I am NOT (nor claiming to be!) #OwnVoices for the Black, biromantic, bisexual, and hypothyroidism representation, and I would highly encourage you to seek out reviews from people online who identify as such. 🥰

60 views

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page