top of page

"Daughter of the Deep" by Rick Riordan


Daughter of the Deep cover

New York Times #1 best-selling author Rick Riordan pays homage to Jules Verne in his exciting modern take on 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea.


Ana Dakkar is a freshman at Harding-Pencroft Academy, a five-year high school that graduates the best marine scientists, naval warriors, navigators, and underwater explorers in the world. Ana's parents died while on a scientific expedition two years ago, and the only family she's got left is her older brother, Dev, also a student at HP. Ana's freshman year culminates with the class's weekend trial at sea, the details of which have been kept secret. She only hopes she has what it'll take to succeed. All her worries are blown out of the water when, on the bus ride to the ship, Ana and her schoolmates witness a terrible tragedy that will change the trajectory of their lives.


But wait, there's more. The professor accompanying them informs Ana that their rival school, Land Institute, and Harding-Pencroft have been fighting a cold war for a hundred and fifty years. Now that cold war has been turned up to a full broil, and the freshmen are in danger of becoming fish food. In a race against deadly enemies, Ana will make amazing friends and astounding discoveries about her heritage as she puts her leadership skills to the test for the first time.





Disability rep: #ND #AutismSpectrumDisorder (character uses an Emotional Support Animal/ESA) #MentalHealth #Anxiety



Publication date: #October2021 #2021year


Awards won: Goodreads Choice Award, Middle Grade & Children's (2021)


BONUS! Check out Kait Goodwin's #OwnVoices review of Daughter of the Deep below & on her book blog here: https://www.kaitgoodwin.com/books/blog-tour-daughter-of-the-deep-by-rick-riordan-review-giveaway/.

Did I Like It? I love this book with all of my heart!!!
Plots and pretty covers are why I add books to my TBR, but there are two things that really make or break a book for me: characters and narration. Rick Riordan is, in my opinion, the master of both. He imbues even the saddest story lines with humor and hope. All of the characters in Daughter of the Deep—Ana, Ester, Nelinha, Dev, Gem, Luca, Ophelia, Jupiter, Socrates, and everyone else whose names I can’t remember right now- feel like real people. They make choices, good ones and bad ones, and they have to live with the consequences of those choices. I also love how the world building is worked into this story. Riordan takes the world we know and changes it just enough that I totally believe there’s a cold fusion powered submarine crossing the Pacific right now. Truly, I love this book, and if there’s one thing you take away from this review, let it be this: GO GET YOURSELF A COPY RIGHT NOW AND START READING! You’ll love it, too.
Favorite Character? ester harding is my favorite!!! (but also I really love Ana, Gem, Nelinha, Jupiter, and Socrates!)
Why Did I Read It? I heard “new Rick Riordan book” and I came running (figuratively). need I say more???
Will I Re-Read It? YES TWENTY THOUSAND PERCENT!
Three Words To Describe The Book: action, humor, betrayal
Goodreads Updates:
• so far this is like a mashup of Percy Jackson and Gallagher Girls, aka my FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME! so yeah, I’m loving this 💜💜💜
• Action! Aventure! Explosions!
• it’s taken me over a hundred pages to put together the words for why I love Ester and this story so much. it’s because Ester is allowed to just BE autistic. she talks in CAPS LOCK when she gets excited or emotional, and she doesn’t make eye contact, and she has a support dog, but she also has friends. she isn’t bullied, she’s respected. no one is trying to ~fix~ her. it’s refreshing and I f*cking love it. <3
• nope. nope nope nope nope nope.
WOW. AMAZING. PERFECT. LOVELY.❞ - Kait Goodwin
61 views

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page